| Search | Login/Register
   Home » Off Air Audio» How to record FM broadcasts. (126 posts, 7 pages)
  Print Thread | 1st Post |  
Page 6 of 7 (126 items) Select Pages:  « First ... « 3 4 5 6 7 »
   Target    Threads for related reading   Most recent post in related threads   Forum  Replies   Views   Started 
  »  New  My recent FM mystery..  Yamaha T-2...  Off Air Audio Forum     3  33571  07-25-2004
  »  New  Digital recorders: what the "big boys" use?..  Not that wild stuff...  Didital Things  Forum     13  75893  01-05-2005
  »  New  The best audio source EVER!..  Norway to close FM by 2017...  Off Air Audio Forum     34  181398  08-20-2005
  »  New  Where the FM quality comes from?..  Freaking ridicules…...  Off Air Audio Forum     22  120020  11-02-2005
  »  New  A littlie D-War: Bidat vs. Lavry Gold..  RE: the "New" DAC...  Didital Things  Forum     13  129517  12-18-2005
  »  New  Align your FM tuners!..  The Munich technician?...  Off Air Audio Forum     7  59768  03-27-2006
  »  New  Analogue to digital converter comparison..  And the price of this is?...  Didital Things  Forum     6  49134  03-16-2007
  »  New  Sansui TU-X1 Broadcast monitor...  Replace all audio coupling......  Off Air Audio Forum     46  301501  06-20-2007
  »  New  The best practices for DAW Data Storage...  The Time Stamps Directories Synchronizer...  Didital Things  Forum     9  48903  09-24-2007
  »  New  Recording options: Pacific Microsonics vs. Lavry Gold...  Pacific Microsonics vs. Lavry Gold in D/A mode....  Didital Things  Forum     24  174401  09-27-2007
  »  New  Reel-to-Reel Tape vs. Raw Better Digital..  So, the "format" and sub-generational stages/...  Didital Things  Forum     13  128679  11-16-2007
  »  New  The commercial music servers...  Touch screen remote...  Didital Things  Forum     36  219167  01-10-2008
  »  New  The Remote System Management..  Great little box...  Off Air Audio Forum     13  67866  08-12-2008
  »  New  Is anybody live in Australia with a tuner and an intere..  Use the same volume of signal...  Off Air Audio Forum     19  101376  09-19-2008
  »  New  How many Bits needed for FM, the Accuphase T1000 dilemm..  The Spider in the Bromeliad...  Off Air Audio Forum     6  44978  03-11-2009
  »  New  DC offset for A/D converters...  DC offset for A/D converters....  Didital Things  Forum     0  11729  03-13-2009
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 101
Post ID: 10310
Reply to: 10299
Why do you shut off synchro lock? and syn start?
fiogf49gjkf0d
Why do you shut off synchro lock? and syn start?
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 102
Post ID: 10314
Reply to: 10310
In search of the not distinguishable sound .
fiogf49gjkf0d
 HDTT wrote:
Why do you shut off synchro lock? and syn start?

This part I do not understand as well.  I would like to see the screenshot of Mixer as well. The Synchro Lock must be engaged ether via a dedicated wordclok cable or to read the sampling marks right in the current AES line. Otherwise you get the wobbleling clocks, which is not good. I would like to have more information about what is wrong with Sound. I have absolutely identical setup and I have absolutely not distinguishable sound between Sansui and Sansui-AD/DA chains.

The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 103
Post ID: 10315
Reply to: 10314
Syncro lock
fiogf49gjkf0d
I am using a external clock but I would think it would lock onto the clock in the A/D No?? If you are not using a external clock
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 104
Post ID: 10316
Reply to: 10315
No external clocks for me.
fiogf49gjkf0d
No, I do not use external clock as I have only one digital devise in case of recording. When I record I use Pacific or Lavry internal clock as master and I always slave Lynx to my A/D. I use to run it independent and it was fine but then last year (when I changed cable) I began to hear problem and no I always salve clock to source. When I play I run D/A with own clock in wide mode as I feel Lavry clock shall not need to be slaved.

The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
jp
Posts 39
Joined on 02-25-2006

Post #: 105
Post ID: 10317
Reply to: 10310
AES16 setting
fiogf49gjkf0d
I wanted the Sound card to do as little as possible and leave everything to the external processors.  Ive had them on before and it didnt improve the sound.
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
jp
Posts 39
Joined on 02-25-2006

Post #: 106
Post ID: 10318
Reply to: 10314
Mixer
fiogf49gjkf0d
Hmm, I fooled around with different combinations and I just changed the playback device under wavelab back to ASIO and its better.  Here is the current mixer screen.
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 107
Post ID: 10319
Reply to: 10316
Dual Wire
fiogf49gjkf0d
On my Weiss I can use dual wire mode if i record in 24/192 this is mandatory I don't know about the Lavry but have you guys ever tried dual wire ??
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 108
Post ID: 10320
Reply to: 10318
Asio
fiogf49gjkf0d
You weren't using asio before?
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 109
Post ID: 10321
Reply to: 10319
Single/dual wire modes
fiogf49gjkf0d
I use dual wire mode from Pacific and single wire mode from Lavry. I do not think that there is a difference between single and dual wire modes if the mixer is done properly. I prefer dual wire modes as Lynx clock slaving works very stupidly in dual wire mode.

JP, I wonder if you understand what you are asking. You posted an image where the only window that was important to view was invisible. That is funny.

The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
jp
Posts 39
Joined on 02-25-2006

Post #: 110
Post ID: 10322
Reply to: 10320
Confusing settings
fiogf49gjkf0d
Sorry wrong pic.  Well, I did for a while and I had some other configurations set that may have degraded the sound.  After making some adjustments and setting it back to ASIO it seems like this retains the original sound better.  Any further suggestions to try?
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 111
Post ID: 10323
Reply to: 10322
Asio
fiogf49gjkf0d
Stick with ASIO was talking with some people from Lynx and they say this is the most direct setup.
Bypasses all over driver and the crappy windows k-mixer which is horrible.
Also as a sidenote they prefer the PC to MAC's because of ASIO,
 they said that there cards on the Mac platform still have to go
thru Apple's Audio Drivers.
04-22-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 112
Post ID: 10324
Reply to: 10323
Funny setting for Lynx
fiogf49gjkf0d

JP, that are funny settings. You source the clock from AES line but do lock it. I do not know at what rate you record but you’re A/D looks like output 88K, you card read 44K and it is not locked – a complete mess. Call to Lynx, they have incredibly good support and ask them what would be a prefer configuration for you and why.

HDTT, not so fast. ASIO do not sound better with Lynx. I have 5 or 6 different ASIO drivers and I experimented with them – not of them were better. They were not worse as well – it juts was no difference between use of Lynx’s WDM own native driver and ASIO drivers. BTW, neither ASIO nor WDM use Windows K-Mixer. I have chosen to use WDM  and never use ASIO because of a few reasons:

1)      More stable. I have a number of times when ASIO driver crashed.

2)      The WDM use less machine recourses

3)      Changes some of Wavelab setting and modes with ASIO require restart Wavelab.

4)      The same sound results.

If you know any better ASIO driver out there then let me know.

The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-23-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
jp
Posts 39
Joined on 02-25-2006

Post #: 113
Post ID: 10326
Reply to: 10324
To Asio or not
fiogf49gjkf0d
 Romy the Cat wrote:

JP, that are funny settings. You source the clock from AES line but do lock it. I do not know at what rate you record but you’re A/D looks like output 88K, you card read 44K and it is not locked – a complete mess. Call to Lynx, they have incredibly good support and ask them what would be a prefer configuration for you and why.

HDTT, not so fast. ASIO do not sound better with Lynx. I have 5 or 6 different ASIO drivers and I experimented with them – not of them were better. They were not worse as well – it juts was no difference between use of Lynx’s WDM own native driver and ASIO drivers. BTW, neither ASIO nor WDM use Windows K-Mixer. I have chosen to use WDM  and never use ASIO because of a few reasons:

1)      More stable. I have a number of times when ASIO driver crashed.

2)      The WDM use less machine recourses

3)      Changes some of Wavelab setting and modes with ASIO require restart Wavelab.

4)      The same sound results.

If you know any better ASIO driver out there then let me know.

The Cat


Hmm, I thought it was odd that the adapter showed 44.4k while my ad122 was set to internal crystal 88.24/24bit and da924 was reading 88.24 output.  Under the adapter menu in Wavelab the latency reads 44k and there seems to be no way to change that.  I guess a call to tech is in order.

I have experienced crashes either way with wavelab.  But it happens more frequently when Im experimenting and changing drivers. Otherwise, if Im just recording its pretty stable (5 hours straight) ASIO sounds better than using WDM or Lynx 1.  Using the latter sounds compressed and a bit gray. I used whatever ASIO driver came with wavelab 6. I have my buffer setting up to 1024 under advanced. A little bit about ASIO http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_Stream_Input/Output


04-23-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 114
Post ID: 10327
Reply to: 10324
Samplitude
fiogf49gjkf0d
Been using samplitude with the AES16 without a hitch. Never crashed sounds very good.when i used the L22 for Dig I/O that was very unreliable.Samplitude doesn't require restart  all I do is change the External clock and everything changes automatically AD/and lynx and Samplitude for me syncrolock is a nice feature
04-23-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 115
Post ID: 10329
Reply to: 10324
Samplitude
fiogf49gjkf0d
Romy have you tried Samplitude extensively, I have both Wavelab and samp prefer samp.Also with version 10 with Hybrid engine believe or not it is noticeably cleaner than older version noticed itright off the bat. Wavelab is good but find it quirky and not very stable it.
04-23-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 116
Post ID: 10331
Reply to: 10329
To Samplitude or not Samplitude.
fiogf49gjkf0d
 HDTT wrote:
Romy have you tried Samplitude extensively, I have both Wavelab and samp prefer samp.Also with version 10 with Hybrid engine believe or not it is noticeably cleaner than older version noticed itright off the bat. Wavelab is good but find it quirky and not very stable it.

No extensively, but I did liked Samplitude version 10. I used only demo version that was fully functional but with limited file length. If I found the Samplitude at no higher than $100 then I would try it. I am software professional and I have difficulties to pay money for software. It is not to mention that I had bad experience with software that I bought for the full price.

The caT


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-23-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 117
Post ID: 10334
Reply to: 10331
To Samplitude or not Samplitude #2
fiogf49gjkf0d
More forgotten reasons came to me why I do not use Samplitude. The Samplitude has very simplistic scheduler that, if I remember correctly, does not allow scheduling recording next day. Also, and it was the absolute deal breaking for me, Samplitude does not support the 64 bit files. The stupid Window does not allow 32bit files to be more than 2G. What would I do with it? I wonder, since I have a reportedly a full functioning demo, does a full licensed version support .w64 files? HDTT, can you check you Samplitude if the .w64 files are available? If yes, then can you turn your recorder overnight at 88 or 176K? On morning you will have 16G-32G file. So, I wonder if Samplitude will be able to open a 20G file and be able to manage it. (Presumably you have at least 2G memory in you DAW)

The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-24-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 118
Post ID: 10337
Reply to: 10334
Samp file size
fiogf49gjkf0d
took this off there site "The Windows WAV file size limit of 2 GB is history. Now you can record up to 2 billion stereo samples. That means 10 hours of sounds in just one file with 44,1 or 48 kHz. Complete radio broadcasts can now be recorded in one take" I know your looking for higher rez but maybe that will help also on there newest update patch it says this "-problems with import of RIFF64 files > 2GB -fixed" so may be you should can give it another shot
04-24-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,486
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 119
Post ID: 10340
Reply to: 10337
The sound of RIFF64 vs. the sound of W64
fiogf49gjkf0d

I see, it looks like they come up with new RIFF64 format that has no 2G limitation. That is good.  I never used RIFF64 but I used Sony W64. The W64 was available for a whole with Sound Forge and become available in WaveLab-6. He W64 format was the ONLY reasons why I moved from WaveLab-5 to WaveLab-6.

Now the key I think is to found our which format sounds better: RIFF64 of W64.

http://www.sr.se/utveckling/tu/bwf/prog/RF_64v1_4.pdf

it is highly possible that they are basic lay the same WAV files only with a header that does allow windows to handle it if it is larger than 2G. It would be interesting if the RIFF64 and W64 sound different….

The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
04-24-2009 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
HDTT
Posts 17
Joined on 02-10-2008

Post #: 120
Post ID: 10341
Reply to: 10340
64
fiogf49gjkf0d
Give it a shot like to know what happens
Page 6 of 7 (126 items) Select Pages:  « First ... « 3 4 5 6 7 »
   Target    Threads for related reading   Most recent post in related threads   Forum  Replies   Views   Started 
  »  New  My recent FM mystery..  Yamaha T-2...  Off Air Audio Forum     3  33571  07-25-2004
  »  New  Digital recorders: what the "big boys" use?..  Not that wild stuff...  Didital Things  Forum     13  75893  01-05-2005
  »  New  The best audio source EVER!..  Norway to close FM by 2017...  Off Air Audio Forum     34  181398  08-20-2005
  »  New  Where the FM quality comes from?..  Freaking ridicules…...  Off Air Audio Forum     22  120020  11-02-2005
  »  New  A littlie D-War: Bidat vs. Lavry Gold..  RE: the "New" DAC...  Didital Things  Forum     13  129517  12-18-2005
  »  New  Align your FM tuners!..  The Munich technician?...  Off Air Audio Forum     7  59768  03-27-2006
  »  New  Analogue to digital converter comparison..  And the price of this is?...  Didital Things  Forum     6  49134  03-16-2007
  »  New  Sansui TU-X1 Broadcast monitor...  Replace all audio coupling......  Off Air Audio Forum     46  301501  06-20-2007
  »  New  The best practices for DAW Data Storage...  The Time Stamps Directories Synchronizer...  Didital Things  Forum     9  48903  09-24-2007
  »  New  Recording options: Pacific Microsonics vs. Lavry Gold...  Pacific Microsonics vs. Lavry Gold in D/A mode....  Didital Things  Forum     24  174401  09-27-2007
  »  New  Reel-to-Reel Tape vs. Raw Better Digital..  So, the "format" and sub-generational stages/...  Didital Things  Forum     13  128679  11-16-2007
  »  New  The commercial music servers...  Touch screen remote...  Didital Things  Forum     36  219167  01-10-2008
  »  New  The Remote System Management..  Great little box...  Off Air Audio Forum     13  67866  08-12-2008
  »  New  Is anybody live in Australia with a tuner and an intere..  Use the same volume of signal...  Off Air Audio Forum     19  101376  09-19-2008
  »  New  How many Bits needed for FM, the Accuphase T1000 dilemm..  The Spider in the Bromeliad...  Off Air Audio Forum     6  44978  03-11-2009
  »  New  DC offset for A/D converters...  DC offset for A/D converters....  Didital Things  Forum     0  11729  03-13-2009
Home Page  |  Last 24Hours  | Search  |  SiteMap  | Questions or Problems | Copyright Note
The content of all messages within the Forums Copyright © by authors of the posts