| Search | Login/Register
   Home » Didital Things » BiDat: One more output (6 posts, 1 page)
  Print Thread | 1st Post |  
Page 1 of 1 (6 items) Select Pages: 
   Target    Threads for related reading   Most recent post in related threads   Forum  Replies   Views   Started 
  »  New  A littlie D-War: Bidat vs. Lavry Gold..  RE: the "New" DAC...  Didital Things  Forum     13  107655  12-18-2005
  »  New  Digi Redux; Drive 1 transport and iDAT-44+ DAC..  The Sound Obsessive List of DACs/Chips...  Didital Things  Forum     23  105587  09-28-2007
  »  New  The Museatex Bidat pages...  An interesting article.......  Didital Things  Forum     54  271103  02-11-2008
06-01-2005 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Alex Yakovlev
NJ, US
Posts 45
Joined on 10-06-2004

Post #: 1
Post ID: 1047
Reply to: 1047
BiDat: One more output
I need to add another output to my BiDat and I was wondering if there is anything special that I have to do. I really don't want to send it to John for three months just to be able to add another output for headphone amplifier.
Thank you.
06-01-2005 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Chirag
New York
Posts 32
Joined on 06-13-2004

Post #: 2
Post ID: 1049
Reply to: 1047
Splitters, preamps, etc
Hey Alex,

Aside from the obvious swapping of cables, do you have any extra outputs in your preamp?  Don't try any sort of splitting device...I did it once with very cheap cables and couldn't listen for more than 30 seconds.  You could always pull another signal from the other output jacks and drill the holes yourself (paying attention to grounding etc)...the impedence issues shouldn't be much of an issue.

On another note, aside from the general idiocy of poorly aimed audio technologies, what makes Bidat so non-reproducible these days?  Are there any patents on this thing that prevent John Wright from just producing some bidats?  The board inside is puny (old chips?), the power supply is nothing special and the output stage is opamps....this did sell for only 1k back in the day...its not much in parts.  Don't get me wrong, I love my Bidats and no way will I sell them or take one apart to play with (I tried once and got scared).  I just wonder if some of the slight upper range grainy hardness (transport?? cabling??) can be removed with better supplies or output stage.

Best,
Chirag
06-02-2005 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Romy the Cat


Boston, MA
Posts 9,283
Joined on 05-28-2004

Post #: 3
Post ID: 1050
Reply to: 1049
Alleged “upper range grainy hardness”.

 Chirag wrote:
I just wonder if some of the slight upper range grainy hardness (transport?? cabling??) can be removed with better supplies or output stage.
Yes, Chirag.

It is transport, cabling, amplifiers, tweeters, electricity or whatever it might be. What Bidat certainly does not have is the “upper range grainy hardness”. In fact, Bidat might be use as an indictor to highlight that any other DAC (among those that I've seen with a minor exception of one) do have the various degrees of  the “upper range grainy hardness”.

Rgs,
The Cat


"I wish I could score everything for horns." - Richard Wagner. "Our writing equipment takes part in the forming of our thoughts." - Friedrich Nietzsche
06-02-2005 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Chirag
New York
Posts 32
Joined on 06-13-2004

Post #: 4
Post ID: 1051
Reply to: 1050
Of course!
Hi Romy,

Bidat IS quite a bit better than any dac i've used in that upper range (or any where else), but there is a bit of hardness there that I have problems killing off in my system.  Its not possibly enough to motivate me to do actively do something, but the Alex post got me thinking about it.  I did have success getting rid of it with a filterless dac (smoothing distortions), but there were at least 15 other identifiable problems with that thing anyway...what a waste of energy and time.

Best,
Chirag
06-02-2005 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Alex Yakovlev
NJ, US
Posts 45
Joined on 10-06-2004

Post #: 5
Post ID: 1053
Reply to: 1049
Problems
Chirag, my amplifier is passive pre and tube power, with input selector relay-based, and with no pre-out so there is unfortunately no easy way for me to utilize it for my purposes. My initial idea was to do just that, but then I would have to keep it on at all times when I listen to my headphones. Besides, there is no available space on the back panel for pre-out.
I checked with John, he said there should be no problem just adding another output as long as I am not driving low impedance load with it.
06-03-2005 Post does not mapped to Knowledge Tree
Chirag
New York
Posts 32
Joined on 06-13-2004

Post #: 6
Post ID: 1054
Reply to: 1053
Output Quandry
Hi Alex,

Short of waving goodbye to the Bidat for a few months, you could always TRY the splitter idea from your favorite cable guy.  It may be acceptable enough for your needs.

Did you mean there is no space on the back of your passive/relay based pre?  Is it a Placette...can the Guy do something about this?  I've seen custom inputs/outputs on some of his toys.

Sorry I can't offer more suggestions...but you can always spend a zillion dollars to pick up another bidat and transport.

Best,
Chirag
Page 1 of 1 (6 items) Select Pages: 
   Target    Threads for related reading   Most recent post in related threads   Forum  Replies   Views   Started 
  »  New  A littlie D-War: Bidat vs. Lavry Gold..  RE: the "New" DAC...  Didital Things  Forum     13  107655  12-18-2005
  »  New  Digi Redux; Drive 1 transport and iDAT-44+ DAC..  The Sound Obsessive List of DACs/Chips...  Didital Things  Forum     23  105587  09-28-2007
  »  New  The Museatex Bidat pages...  An interesting article.......  Didital Things  Forum     54  271103  02-11-2008
Home Page  |  Last 24Hours  | Search  |  SiteMap  | Questions or Problems | Copyright Note
The content of all messages within the Forums Copyright © by authors of the posts